Media Contact

Kathleen Curry

Public Affairs Director
T: 02 9478 1004
M: 0429 011 690

Farmer of the Year 2017


The NSW Farmer of the Year Award is designed to recognise excellence in farming within NSW. A joint initiative by NSW Farmers and NSW Department of Primary Industries (NSW DPI), and supported by The Land newspaper and SafeWork NSW, the awards have a particular focus on acknowledging farmers who combine safe, environmentally sustainable practices with profitable production.

To further develop and improve their farming enterprise all finalists will also be invited to form part of the NSW Farmer professional network.


This year's NSW Farmer of the Year will be awarded $10,000, two finalists will each receive $2,000.


The NSW Farmer of the Year is open to farmers in NSW.  Both men and women are encouraged to apply. 

Staff of NSW DPI, NSW Farmers, SafeWork NSW and Rural Press are not eligible to apply.  


 - Nominations have now closed.

A NSW Farmers representative will contact you to arrange a time to go through the application questions with you and assist you with the application.

You can also complete the application form yourself

When completing the application form be sure to remember that the judges will be looking for ways your farm is safe, operating under good health and welfare guidelines, environmentally sustainable, competitive in your market, innovative and has a good story to tell. 

This can be done by fully addressing the essential criteria outlined in the application form. You can also provide additional information about your farm after addressing the essential criteria. 

Please keep your application to one page per question, with one extra page for additional information.

If you are part of a family partnership please outline your areas of responsibility/achievement. 

 - Nominations have now closed.


 - NSW Farmers, PO Box 459, St Leonards, NSW 1590 E:  


A number of finalists willbe selected by the judging panel, which includes representatives from NSW Farmers, NSW DPI, The Land and SafeWork NSW.

Finalists will participate in a farm visit and interview. The finalists will be invited to the award presentation later in the year.  Finalists’ travel expenses will be covered by the NSW Farmer of the Year program.


 - Friday 15 September 2017




Nick Arena, Central Coast 

2015    Ed Fagan, Cowra 
2014    Derek and Kirrily Blomfield
  Matthew and Cherie Coddington Dubbo
Godfrey Dol Guyra
  Peter & Alison Campbell Henty
  Norm Smith Central West


  Ridley Bell North Coast (blueberries); Young FOTY Andrew Carroll Yamba (mulloway)
2009   Michael O'Brien Walgett (mixed cropping and livestock); Young FOTY Steve and Amity Chase Trangie (cattle focus)
2008   Nigel Kerin Yeoval (cropping and sheep); Young FOTY Tally Matthews Windsor (turf and vegetable production in Sydney basin)
2007   Rob Sinnamon Baryugil (Manager of mixed cattle and cropping property Yugilbar); Young FOTY joint between Ben and Liarne Mannix of Bourke (dorpers, dohnes, goats and cattle) and Stuart Blake Walcha (artificial breeding services/mixed farming)
2006   Gary Johnston Forbes (lucene, irrigation, livestock); Young FOTY Greg Miller Windsor (turf)
2005   Scott McCalman (cropping, no tillage champion); Young FOTY Graham Finlayson (native vegetation restoration, livestock, farmstay)
2004   Garry Hannigan Broken Hill (native veg, drought strategies, goats and livestock; Young FOTY Andrew Watson Boggabri (cotton)

Supported by: LANDLogo    SafeWorkNSW




Back to top