Entries open for 2013 NSW Farmer of the Year awards

Applications are now open for the 2013 NSW Farmer of the Year Award, with farmers of all ages across NSW urged to submit entries.

Minister for Primary Industries Katrina Hodgkinson and NSW Farmers’ Association President Fiona Simson said the annual awards, now in their tenth year, acknowledge agricultural excellence.

The successful ‘Farmer of the Year’ will be awarded $10,000 and the other finalists will receive $2,000.

Ms Hodgkinson said the awards recognise people with outstanding management skills, the use of innovation, profitability, sustainability, and community involvement.

“Our State’s 42,000 farmers are feeding and clothing millions of people in Australia and around the world – while at the same time managing our natural resource base and driving the regional economy.

“They face great challenges and have to put in place strategies to battle bushfires, floods, drought, and pests and diseases so they can be profitable and support their families,” Ms Hodgkinson said.  

“The NSW Farmer of the Year award recognises the many qualities of our farmers and pays tribute to them.

“The common theme among past finalists is their determination to push the boundaries, to produce a quality product and to run an efficient, profitable and sustainable business.”

NSW Farmers’ Association President Fiona Simson said the finalists played an important part in promoting the sector and educating urban audiences about farmers’ contributions on many levels.

“As land managers, the environmental and innovation credentials of farmers are sometimes overlooked, so we want farmers who can share their approaches with their industry peers and also act as ambassadors to the broader community,” she said.

“The Awards are a celebration of our industries’ achievements and resilience, so I would strongly encourage any of the wonderful farmers of NSW to enter.

“Certainly each year the competition for finalists is very strong.”
Henty mixed farmers Peter and Alison Campbell, 2012 NSW Farmer of the Year winners, found it a rewarding experience.

The Award is an initiative of the NSW Farmers’ Association and NSW Department of Primary Industries, with support from The Land and the Royal Agricultural Society of NSW.

Application forms are available here or at www.dpi.nsw.gov.au, and entries close Friday 11 October 2013.

Contact: Kerri Griffiths

Phone: 0417 905 119

Back to top