NSW Farmers award scholarships to students

NSW Farmers has awarded $20,000 in scholarships to five students seeking to advance careers in food and fibre production.

Minister for Primary Industries, Lands and Water, Niall Blair MLC, presented the scholarships at the NSW Farmers’ annual conference in Sydney, with winners coming from Narromine, Boorowa, Armidale, Coonabarabran and Wee Waa.

Chair of the scholarship selection panel and Walcha farmer Sonia O’Keefe said this year’s recipients were studying education, physiotherapy, agricultural economics and business management. 

“It is great that NSW Farmers can recognise the achievement of students across a broad range of subjects and the different ways in which these students are able to contribute to rural communities through their chosen field,” Ms O’Keefe said.

“Young skilled professionals are important for rural communities and the industries such as agriculture which support them.”

Ms O’Keefe said NSW Farmers’ scholarship program was one way the association could contribute to succession planning in agriculture and the community.

“For many rural and regional students attending university it means moving away from the family farm and having significant accommodation and travel costs. Our aim is to ease some of the cost burden of these students allowing them to focus more time on their studies and other activities,” she said.

“I congratulate scholarship recipients and look forward to seeing the positive contributions they make to our industry and communities.”

The scholarship recipients are:
• Billy Browning (Narromine): Bachelor of Agricultural Economics - Sydney University
• Charlie Coles (Boorowa): Bachelor of Agriculture/Business - UNE
• Phoebe Wood (Armidale): Bachelor of Education (Primary) - UNE
• Craig McGlashan (Coonabarabran): Bachelor of Agriculture/Business - UNE
• Alice Grellman (Wee Waa): Physiotherapy (Honours) - University of Queensland 


15 July 2015

Contact: Charlie Cull

Phone: 02 9478 1000

Back to top