Under the NSW Farmers’ Tertiary Scholarship Program, five (5) $4,000 scholarships are available to be awarded in 2024. The following information is provided to help in applying for a scholarship.

1. The scholarships are designed to benefit members. To be eligible for a scholarship, you, your partner or your parents/legal guardians must have been Full Producer members of the Association for at least the two consecutive years before the date on which you apply. 

2. You may be eligible to apply for a scholarship if you fulfil any of the following categories:

I. Studying at a University and:
a. Enrolled as a full-time student; and
b. Commencing your second or subsequent year of your course

II. Studying at a vocational institute and:
a. Enrolled as a full-time student; and
b. Commencing your first or subsequent year of full-time study at a vocational level

III. Undertaking post-graduate study and:
a. Enrolled as a full-time student, and 
b. Commencing your first or subsequent year of full-time study.

3. The five scholarships are as follows: 

The E.L. O’Brien Scholarship awarded to a student of agriculture.  EL (Dick) O’Brien was a Walgett woolgrower who was a senior official in the United Farmers and Woolgrowers Association (UFWA), which merged with the Graziers’ Association in 1978 to form NSW Farmers’ Association.  
The John White Memorial Scholarship (open category) was introduced in 2007 in honour of former NSW Farmers’ Association Chief Executive John White, who passed away in 2006.  John played an important role in the amalgamation of the Graziers Association and the United Farmers’ and Woolgrowers’ Association in 1978, to form NSW Farmers’ Association.  As Chief Executive of the new state body, John went on to help assist other amalgamations at a federal level to form the National Farmers' Federation (NFF) the following year.  
The Alan Chapman Memorial Scholarship (open category) commemorates the commitment of Alan Chapman over 30 years on NSW Farmers’ Executive Council and 51 attendances at NSW Farmers Annual Conference.  This scholarship honours Alan’s contribution.
The Graham Blatch Memorial Goobang Scholarship (open category) was introduced in 2011 in honour of former NSW Farmers’ Association Regional Services Manager Graham Blatch.  Graham was a member since he was 18 and a farmer at Yeoval before he became employed with NSW Farmers in 1998.  He was well respected and epitomised the essence of the Association. With an open and exuberant personality he influenced the lives of many farmers in the central west of NSW. 
The Paul Lockyer Memorial Scholarship (open category) was introduced in 2012 in memory of rural journalist Paul Lockyer.  Paul was an Australian television journalist for the ABC and the Nine Network who was known for his reporting on rural and regional Australia.  Paul was awarded the Centenary Medal in 2003 for his coverage of rural issues, particularly the extensive drought and he was twice awarded the NSW Farmers' Association Mackellar Media prize for coverage of rural issues.

4. All applications will be assessed by the Tertiary Scholarship Selection Panel on the basis of your: 
commitment to agriculture and rural communities,
all-round ability including leadership qualities and communication skills, and
academic record 

5. Short listed applicants will be invited to meet with the Tertiary Scholarship Selection Panel (virtually or in person) in the week commencing 3 June 2023.

6. Students who have previously received a NSW Farmers Association tertiary scholarship are ineligible to reapply.  

7. The NSW Farmers Association reserves the right not to award all scholarships in any given year.

8. The result of your application may not be known before the new semester/term begins.

9. If you are awarded a 2024 Tertiary Scholarship you will be invited to attend the NSW Farmers’ Annual Conference to be held in Sydney in July 2024, where your scholarship will be presented. 

10. Scholarship winners will be asked to participate in media and promotional opportunities. NSW Farmers may also use photos and biographical details of all winners for promotional purposes. 

11. By applying for a scholarship you agree to be provided with information regarding Membership of the NSW Farmers’ Association. 

12. These conditions apply for 2024, but we may vary any of the conditions in future years.